PRL Award

Nominations are invited for the PRL Award instituted by late Prof. Devendra Lal, former Director of PRL. The award, given in alternate years, consist of a cash prize of ₹ 50,000/- (Rs. Fifty Thousand) and a medal and will be given to outstanding Indian Scientists, who are below 45 years of age, as on 1st January 2021 (born on or after 02.01.1976) for original work carried out in the fields/topics of: Innovative theoretical and or experimental studies in Earth and Planetary systems, including areas of oceanography, atmospheric sciences, and meteorology. The award consists of a medal and a cash prize of Rupees Fifty thousands (Rs. 50,000/-).

Guidelines for submission of nomination:

Nominations are to be submitted in the prescribed format and should include;
  1. Significant contributions to the area of specialization by the nominee (two pages) during his/her research career.
  2. Impact of the contributions in the field concerned, basic and/or applied
  3. Specific contributions for which the nomination is being made
  4. Complete list of Publications (with the names of authors in the order in which they appear in the publications).
  5. List of TEN BEST publications of which five should preferably be from the last five years (A separate listing of this is essential)
  6. Reprints of five important publications in the last five years (e-file only).
Although the overall work of the candidates would be taken into account, the work done in India would be given prime consideration. The nomination can be done either online or by downloading the proforma as provided below.

Nominations for PRL award as per above guidelines and with the required documents need to be submitted via e-mail to The Director, PRL at DIRECTOR AT PRL dot RES dot IN with the subject line ' Nomination for The PRL Award' (as the case may be) on or before 20 October 2021. Nominations may be made by the Head of Academic & Research Institutions/ Vice-Chancellors/ Deans of Universities/ Fellows of the Indian Academies of Science and Engineering/ and past recipients of this awards.

Re-nominations of the nominees for the previous years has to be done by making a fresh nomination as per the above criteria and guidelines.

Last date for receiving Nominations: 20 October 2021.

Nomination Proforma (click here to download)

PRL Award Awardees List (1997-2017)