Astrobiology Webinar

Astrobiology is one of the interdisciplinary areas of science that is rapidly evolving and has the potential to reveal the mystery that shrouds the Origin of Life. The research carried out in India in this trans disciplinary field is developing, and there is a lot of interest to engage in astrobiology research at various levels. There are a few courses works in astrobiology taught in academic institutions. Many students are interested in carrying out short and long term projects in astrobiology.

The unforeseen circumstances that we are facing now due to COVID19 pandemic has heavily affected the summer projects at various levels, especially for emerging research area, such as astrobiology. It is imperative to keep up the momentum. Hence, we are organizing a webinar series of astrobiology lectures from international and national academics carrying out astrobiology research and teaching.

The series of talks will begin on 02 June 2020 and will go on for more than a month. We will be posting a Google spreadsheet for registration. The registration for the webinar series starts on 25 May and is limited to 150 participants, to whom a link to the webinar will be shared a day before the scheduled talk.

List of speakers:

  • Charles Cockell, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Chris McKay, NASA, USA.
  • Nigel Mason, University of Kent, UK.
  • Karen Olsson, The Open University, UK.
  • Rebecca Thombre, Modern College, India.
  • Hugh Hill, International Space University, France.
Please Note: More speakers will be added in the list.


  • Charles Cockell - 2nd June 2020 - Time 2:30 PM (IST)
    Title: TBA
  • Chris McKay - 9th June 2020 - Time 10 AM (IST)
    Title: TBA
  • Karen Olsson - 16th June 2020 - Time 2:30 PM (IST)
    Title: TBA
Registration begins at 12 PM on 25th May 2020.
The schedule of the talks with date and time will be posted in due course.
Keep visiting this page for updates.

Organized by

B Sivaraman (Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad) R Thombre (Modern college, Pune) K G Sreejalekshmi (Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Trivandrum)