Astronomy & Astrophysics Division Faculty


Prof. A. Chakraborty (Chairman, A & A Div.)
Astronomy & Astrophysics
Room No: 4607, 4612
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4607, 4612(Thaltej)
Email: abhijit@
Prof. S. Vadawale
High Energy Astrophysics and related instrumentation
Room No: 4616
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4616
Email: [email protected]
Prof. Sachindra Naik
High Energy Astrophysics & Astronomy, Infrared Astronomy
Room No: 203, Thaltej Campus
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4603
Email: [email protected]
Prof. S. Ganesh
Astronomy & Astrophysics
Room No: 4506, 4508
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4508/4512 (Thaltej)
Email: [email protected]
Dr. Aveek Sarkar
Magnetohydrodynamic simulation, Solar physics
Room No: 101,Thaltej Campus
Phone No: 079 2631 4501
Email: [email protected]
Dr. M. K. Srivastava
Astronomical Instrumentation Optical/Infrared Astronomy
Room No: 4401
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4401
Email: [email protected]
Dr. Manash Samal
Massive Stars and Young Clusters: formation, evolution, feedback effects, and associated interstellar medium.
Room No: 213
Phone No: 4613
Email: [email protected]
Dr. Veeresh Singh
Active Galactic Nuclei and Galaxy Evolution
Room No: 214, PRL Thaltej Campus
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4614
Email: [email protected]
Dr. Lokesh Kumar Dewangan
Massive Star Formation, Multi-wavelength study of Galactic star-forming regions, Polarization study of star-forming regions
Room No: 204, PRL Thaltej Campus
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4604
Email: [email protected]
Dr. Arvind Singh
Very low-mass stars (M-dwarfs) and Brown Dwarfs
Room No: 202, Thaltej Campus
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4602
Email: [email protected]
Dr. Vishal Joshi
Near-Infrared/Optical studies of Novae, Supernovae and transients, Automated analysis in Astronomy
Room No: 209, Thaltej Campus
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4609
Email: [email protected]


Prof. P. Janardhan
Solar Radio Astronomy; Solar Wind and Space Weather studies
Room No: 4610
Phone No: 079 2631 4610 (Thaltej)
Email: [email protected]

Honorary Scientist

Prof. D. P. K. Banerjee
Email: [email protected]


Mr. Hiteshkumar Adalja
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4710 (Thaltej)
Email: [email protected]
Mr. Mithun Neelakandan PS
High Energy Astrophysics and Instrumentation
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4947 (Thaltej)
Email: [email protected]
Mr. Neeraj Tiwari
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4973(Thaltej Campus, new building
Email: [email protected]
Mr. Kapil Kumar
Room No: 205, Thaltej Campus
Phone No: +91 79 2631 4615
Email: [email protected]
Mr. J S S V Prasad Neelam
Electronics & Instrumentation
Room No: 003, Thaltej Campus
Phone No: 4403
Email: [email protected]
Deekshya Roy Sarkar
Optical/Near-Infrared Astronomical Instrumentation
Room No: 109, Thaltej Campus
Phone No: 4509
Email: [email protected]
Mr. Kasarla Prashanth Kumar
Optical and Near-IR Astronomical instrumentation
Room No: 110, Thaltej