National Science Day - 2018

National Science Day will be celebrated at Physical Research Laboratory on 24th February 2018. On this occasion, Aruna Lal Scholarships and other prizes will be awarded to meritorious students selected based on a screening test at designated test centres, followed by competitive events and personal interview at PRL. The Aruna Lal scholarship has been instituted by Late Prof.Devendra Lal, former Director of Physical Research Laboratory.

  • Application and Eligibility: Principals of higher secondary schools of Gujarat are requested to nominate a maximum of seven students of 11th standard (Science stream) using the School/School Registration menu. Please register the school first and then nominate the student(s).
  • Selection Procedure:  A screening test will be conducted at Ahmedabad Gandhinagar, Vadodara, Vallabh Vidyanagar, Bharuch, Surat, Valsad, Porbandar, Rajkot, Bhuj, Patan, Palanpur and Bhavnagar on 07th January 2018. Top 150 students in the merit list of the screening test will be selected for subsequent round of competitive events to be held at Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, on 24th February 2018.
  • Medium: The schools having different mediums (English/ Gujarati/ Hindi) have to register separately.

Click here to see the results of the Screening Test conducted on 07th January 2018
NSD 2018: Information for selected students/schools
NSD 2018 Schedule

"...the most effective development of education can take place only when the teacher, the student, his parents, and the outside environment can interact with one another, in a series of feedback loops, free from regimentation and irrelevant theories and principles preached from the top."

Dr. Vikram Sarabhai