

## **PRL Honours FOUR Scientists**

Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmedabad, is pleased to announce the names of FOUR outstanding scientists for the Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr. Vikram Sarabhai Research Awards and PRL Award - 2015 for their significant contributions in various fields of research.

- ♣ The recipients of the Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr. Vikram Sarabhai Research Awards in different disciplines are:
  - 1. Space Sciences

This award has been conferred jointly to:

- i. Dr. Nissim Kanekar, NCRA-TIFR, Pune for his important contribution in studies of galaxy evolution and multiphase structure of the inter stellar medium.
- ii. **Dr. Dibyendu Chakrabarty,** PRL-Ahmedabad, for his significant contribution in development of instrumentation to bring out space weather signatures in airglow emission at low latitudes.
- 2. Electronics, Informatics, Telematics & Automation
- **Dr. Neelesh B. Mehta,** IISC, Bangalore, for fundamental contributions in modelling, design and analysis of modern wireless communication systems. These find many applications in green wireless sensor networks and 4G/5G cellular system.
- The recipient of the PRL Award in the discipline of Earth and Planetary Systems is:
  - **Dr. Geeta Vichare,** Indian Institute of Geomagnetism, Navi Mumbai, based on her work on detection of day time sub storm signatures in the topside ionosphere, which is very vital for the space weather studies.

\_\_\_\_\_\_\_

Each award carries a Medal and a Cash Prize of ₹ 50,000/- and will be presented at a ceremony to be held on **11 November 2016**, Foundation day of the Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad. All the awardees will deliver a talk on that day which will highlight scientific contributions made by them.

The Vikram Sarabhai Awards were instituted from funds provided by Pujya Shri Mota of Hari Om Ashram, Nadiad, and the PRL Award is supported by the Aruna Lal Endowment Fund established by late Prof. Devendra Lal, former Director of PRL.

PRL congratulates all the awardees for their meritorious achievement and wish them success in their academic & scientific endeavours.