Prof. Anil Bhardwaj, PhD

FNA, FASc, FNASc, J. C. Bose Fellow, AOGS Fellow, Bhatnagar and Infosys Prize Laureate, Academician, International Academy of Astronautics

Distinguished Professor Director, Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad 38009

ABhardwaj@prl.res.in Bhardwaj SPL@yahoo.com https://www.prl.res.in/~abhardwaj

After MSc from Lucknow University, and PhD from Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) – Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Varanasi, Prof. Bhardwaj joined the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) in 1993 at the Space Physics Laboratory (SPL) of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Trivandrum. He was the Director of SPL-VSSC during 2014-2017. He worked at NASA Marshall Space Flight Centre for about 2 years during 2004-2005 as NRC-Senior Research Associate on the Fellowship of US National Science Academy.

His primary research field is Planetary and Space Sciences and Solar System Exploration. His experiments have been flown on Chandrayaan-1, Mangalyaan, Chandrayaan-2, Chandrayaan-3 Lander and Rover, and Aditya-L1 missions. He leads the planning of India future space missions. He has used space-based (Chandra, XMM-Newton, Hubble), and ground-based Telescopes for studying solar system bodies.

Prof. Bhardwaj has published more than 200 peer-reviewed research papers in international journals and chapter in Books, and has supervised several Ph.D., M.Tech., M.Phil., M.Sc., B.Tech. students and PDFs. His research findings led to several Press Releases by NASA, European Space Agency, ISRO; Cover pages of American and European journals, and media highlights. He has been the Editor/Editorial Board Member of several international journals, member of Governing Council of a number of elite research institutions in India, and Chairman and Member of many National and International Science Committees. He was President of Asia Oceania Geosciences Society (AOGS) Planetary Sciences during 2006-2010, Vice-Chair of COSPAR Commission B during 2012-2020. He is the Founding-President of Indian Planetary Science Association (IPSA), and Board of Trustee of the International Academy of Astronautics, since 2023.

Prof. Bhardwaj is an elected *Fellow* of all the *three National Science Academies* in India, and of many other Academies/Societies, and has received recognition at both national and international level, including two most coveted science awards – *Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize* (2007) and *Infosys Prize* (2016). He is also a recipient of *INSA-Vainu Bappu Memorial International Award* (2016), *Decennial Award of Indian Geophysical Union* (2017), *J.C. Bose National Fellowship* (2019), *Prof. M. G. K. Menon Lecture Award* of NASI (2021), *AOGS Fellowship* (2023) and *INSA Distinguished Lecture Fellowship* (2023), to name a few. He also received the coveted 2014 *Vikram Sarabhai Medal of COSPAR*, and the 2024 International Academy of Astronautics, Basic Sciences Section Award.

A Distinguished Alumni Awardee of IIT-BHU (2015) and of Lucknow University (2022), Prof. Bhardwaj is revered by ISRO in 2017 with their highest in-service award – The Outstanding Achievement Award.

A Chapter "A Rocket to Poke Martians" on the Life and work of Prof. Anil Bhardwaj is published in Children's Book "They Made What?" (2021). He is listed in the Book "100 Great IITian Dedicated to the Service of Nation".